Saturday, July 9, 2011

{ Blood Magic by Tessa Gratton }

Blood Magic by Tessa Gratton

May 24, 2011 by Random House Children's Books

Format: Ebook

Source: Bought from

From Goodreads:

This page-turning debut novel will entice fans who like their paranormal romances dark and disturbing. It's a natural next-read for fans of Stephanie Meyer, Carrie Jones, and Becca Fitzpatrick. But instead of mythical creatures, blood magic has everything to do with primal human desires like power, wealth and immortality. Everywhere Silla Kennicott turns she sees blood. She can't stop thinking of her parents alleged murder-suicide. She is consumed by a book filled with spells that arrives mysteriously in the mail. The spells share one common ingredient: blood, and Silla is more than willing to cast a few. What's a little spilled blood if she can uncover the truth? And then there's Nick - the new guy at school who makes her pulse race. He has a few secrets of his own and is all too familiar with the lure of blood magic. Drawn together by a combination of fate and chemistry, Silla and Nick must find out who else in their small Missouri town knows their secret and will do anything to take the book and magic from Silla.

My review:

I love visiting my favorite blogs for new book finds and I also love to visit Goodreads. I was on Goodreads one day and taking a look through some of my favorite authors book reviews and came across this one on Maggie Stiefvater's Goodreads page. It was highly recommended by Maggie, so of course I had to give it a read! You know what? I was not disappointed. I really enjoyed this story and the characters. I realize that it might not be for everyone as blood plays a huge part in this story. But I really enjoyed it! It was something different, dark and a little creepy...okay, maybe a lot creepy.

Silla and Nick were both enjoyable on their own and as a couple. I will admit that Nick calling Silla, Babe all the time was a bit annoying for me. I just found it a bit out of character or just not all that fitting for either of them. Just a little annoyance of mine. Other than that, I found them both to be quite believable even in the middle of a pretty unbelievable situation. Poor Silla has been through so much when we first meet her - she is the one to find both of her parents dead and in a bloody embrace - and she continues to be at the centre of even more blood and creepiness. I really enjoyed how each chapter switches back and forth between Silla and Nick. I really find that I enjoy this style as we get a better understanding of each of the main characters and get more invested in each of them as individuals.

I will admit this review is not all that in depth. I finished this one while I was off on a camping trip last week and was not able to write my review right away as I usually like to do. However, in the end, I definitely recommend this one if you are looking for something a little different from your normal YA paranormal. If you like your YA darker, creepier and little bloodier? You will definitely devour this one!

Rating: 4 stars!

1 comment:

  1. I've heard great things about this one! I know I tend to prefer darker YA paranormals as well.